The Earth Institute Site Named Best Education Site for the 12th Annual Webby Awards


Webby Winner

New York, NY, May 12, 2008 - The 12th Annual Webby Awards today named The Earth Institute as the Best Education Site of 2008. Hailed as "the Internet's highest honor" by the New York Times, The Webby is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including websites, interactive advertising, online film and video and mobile websites.

"The Webby Awards honors the very best of the Internet," said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. "The Earth Institute's win is a testament to the skill, ingenuity and vision of its creators." The Earth Institute site is produced by web team members Arif Noori and Katya Tepelyan, as well as the design team, Mark Inglis, Sunghee Kim and John Stislow.

The 12th Annual Webby Awards received a record 9,500 entries from over 60 countries and all 50 states. Founded in 1996, The Webby Awards are known worldwide for its famous five-word speech limit. Past headline-grabbing speechmakers include Al Gore ("Please don't recount this vote"), Beastie Boys ("Can anyone fix my computer?") and Prince ("Everything you think is true.")

Winners will be honored at two ceremonies in New York City: The Webby Film & Video Awards on June 9th and The 12th Annual Webby Awards Gala on June 10th. The Webby Awards are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. The 550-person judging academy includes Internet co-inventor Vinton Cerf, R/GA's Chief Bob Greenberg, "Simpson's" creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington and Harvey Weinstein. Sponsors and partner: Adobe; The Creative Group; Nokia; .ORG; The Barbarian Group; Level3; Digital Kitche; Adweek; Fortune; Variety; Wired; IDG: Brightcove; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image. A full list of both Webby Awards and People's Voice Awards winners can be found at: